On the Road…Not So Much

3 May

Well, there are no excuses I can make. I lied, and I am very sorry. I just have to admit it to you guys and move on.

I did go on the road again – that wasn’t the lying part – but once in Tunisia, I just couldn’t find time to record all the amazing things I was seeing. I told myself I would write them all down when I got home, but between finishing up my internship and cranking through my senior capstone project, it just didn’t happen.

Fortunately, I again find myself with time on my hands and the itch to write. Read along if you dare.  Coffee is entering the scene yet again, and I think blog entries will tend to center on that. But I’m also going to be searching for a new pad in Washington, D.C., and that will certainly be an adventure in and of itself.

To kick off, let me tell you my dilemma. My best friend from home, who is also a coffee-loving little woman, is moving to the city at the end of May. She and I will be staying in my current place until the beginning of August, when we plan to move in with our other (male) friend and as of last night, potentially his largely unknown, ginger-bearded friend. While as a newly-hatched adult, I’d like to find a place where I could have my own room, D.C.’s rent prices often make that pretty difficult. We also don’t want to live in a place where we have to walk a mile to the bus/metro or carry a machete (it really clashes with our going-out-attire).

So ultimately we’re three-to-four recent college grads trying to find a three or four bedroom apartment in a decent neighborhood with metro or bus access for close to $2400 or $3200 (depending on how many people live with us) per month.

To give an example of what this might mean, trawling Craigslist this morning, I found a 3-bedroom, 1-bathroom apartment for $1850 – score! The pictures looked nice, there was a washer & dryer, and the ad said it was one block to the bus. Perfect, except…I google-mapped it and realized it’s on what my former coworker outlined for me as the sketchy side of H-Street. Not the up-and-coming cool side, but the murder-before-midnight side. A couple blocks away from emergency psychiatric services.

Another great one for $2350 looked nice until I checked it out on OneCityMap and found there had been an assault with a deadly weapon right next door in the last month.

And so the search continues…but not without coffee:

Leave a comment